International aspects

One world, many legal systems: we go beyond borders in your interest.

The increasing mobility of our society leads to ever more couples from different legal systems setting up a family. With our many years of experience, we can advise, assist and represent you in matters involving international aspects of law.

Marriage and partnerships

Foreign nationality, places of residence in different countries or contracts concluded in a foreign country: we can advise you on marriages and partnerships involving international considerations.

Separation and divorce

Relationships between persons of different nationalities can prove to be surprisingly complex in the event of separation or divorce. For example, the country in which first recourse to a court was made and the national law applied may be of crucial importance. There are frequently problems in enforcing judgments or claims. Questions about short- and long-term residence may also be affected.

Wills and legacies

To guarantee the successful implementation of estate planning in Switzerland or in another country, all matters of a cross-border nature must be carefully clarified in advance. Such matters are involved if the testator or heirs have (or will have) a place of residence in a different country or if real property or wealth are located in a different country and, for this reason, a foreign law system applies. In the event of complex situations, it is also absolutely necessary to clarify the inheritance and tax position in the countries involved.

Internationale Aspekte

Eine Welt, viele Rechtsräume: In Ihrem Interesse gehen wir für Sie auch über die Grenzen.

Mit der zunehmenden Mobilität unserer Gesellschaft kommt es zu immer mehr Familiengründungen von Menschen aus verschiedenen Rechtssystemen. Wir beraten, unterstützen und vertreten Sie mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung in Angelegenheiten mit internationalen Berührungspunkten.

Ehe und Partnerschaft

Ausländische Staatsbürgerschaft, Wohnsitze in verschiedenen Ländern oder im Ausland geschlossene Verträge: Wir beraten Sie bei Ehen und Partnerschaften mit internationalen Aspekten.

Trennung und Scheidung

Beziehungen mit internationalem Bezug weisen im Falle einer Trennung oder Scheidung oft eine nicht zu unterschätzende Komplexität auf. Es kann zum Bespiel entscheidend sein, in welchem Staat ein Gericht zuerst angerufen und welches nationale Recht angewandt wird. Oft gibt es Probleme beim Vollzug von Urteilen und bei der Durchsetzung von Ansprüchen. Betroffen sind auch Fragen des Aufenthalts- oder Niederlassungsrechts.

Testament und Erbschaft

Um die Umsetzung einer Nachlassplanung im In- und Ausland zu gewährleisten, bedarf es einer sorgfältigen Abklärung der grenzüberschreitenden Sachverhalte. Solche liegen etwa vor, wenn Erblasser/Erben ihren Wohnsitz im Ausland haben (bzw. haben werden) oder Vermögenswerte im Ausland liegen und deshalb ausländisches Recht zur Anwendung kommt. Bei komplexen Konstellationen ist es zudem unumgänglich, die erb- und steuerrechtliche Situation in jenen Ländern, die berührt sind, abzuklären.